I’ll Add a Title Later

Standard

This is a blog I’ve been meaning to write for some time but I never seemed to get around to it. It’s just one of those things, you know. It sits there on the list but there always seems to be something more important to write about. Like many things that languish on the list of life, it sometimes seems to be important but never really important enough to get started. There is always some other task that takes priority – like cleaning the bathroom, reading a book, washing my hair, or, you know, sitting and staring out the window.

I’m talking, of course, about procrastination. There. I’ve said it. I suffer from procrastination – well, I do when I get around to thinking about it and the consequences it has for my life.

This is nothing new. I’ve always been very good at putting things off. Well, no, that’s not exactly true. Some things I get done right away – happy hour, for example. If it weren’t for happy hour, I probably would never get anything done. When I was in University, I would always get my homework finished early in order to be able to have happy hour right on time. It has been the one saving grace in a lifetime of putting things off.

Okay, to be honest, I only put off things that I don’t like – such as starting a new short story or a novel, sorting through my possessions in order to whittle them down, getting out of bed, going to work. Stuff like that.

But once I get started – you can watch my dust. Took me forever to get started on my first novel but then I wrote it in 3 days. Okay so that was a contest and I actually couldn’t start until the contest period did but still… 3 days.

I’ve been putting off a lot of things lately. But no more. I’m turning over a new leaf. Starting Wednesday. Well, one can’t rush into these things. But on Wednesday (Thursday latest) you will see a whole new man. Nothing will appear on the horizon that I will not immediately tackle and defeat it. This proactive approach will thankfully allow me to ignore all the backlog of things I already need to do. By several weeks at least. Maybe months.

Still, one wouldn’t want to die with nothing left on the list of things to do. It would be embarrassing. Not only that, it would imply that for a period of time, however brief, your life was bereft of meaning and purpose. Without a full list of things to do, you would, of course, be listless.

So, my advice to you is to make your list as long as possible. In fact, make it impossibly long – add to it every day and chip away at it regularly. Start now. I mean, start making your list now. That’s what I’m going to do. It’s better than actually accomplishing something.

But that’s ten minutes.

Leave a Reply

